"Problems do not go away. They must be worked through, or else they remain forever a barrier to the growth and development of the spirit." —M. Scott Peck, MD

MECA counselors are committed to helping students achieve their personal and academic goals and enhance their self-understanding. They provide students with support and encouragement in a non-judgmental, caring setting, where diversity is respected and celebrated.

Counseling is free and confidential at MECA. Office hours are available every weekday as well as Saturdays. The best way to schedule a counseling appointment is to email counseling@meca.edu. These emails are directed to Sheila Geant, Coordinator of Counseling & Wellness, who will reply. Please include a few days and times that would be convenient for you to meet.



Some reasons students seek counseling

  • Anxiety and stress
  • Adjustment problems
  • Depression
    Disordered eating
  • Grief and loss
  • LGBTQIA+ issues
  • Relationship problems
  • Substance use/misuse


Counseling Services at MECA

  • Mental health assessment
  • Individual, couples, and group counseling
  • Crisis intervention
  • Consultation with members of the MECA community, family, providers
  • Psychoeducation
  • Referrals to appropriate resources and local providers


The 2021 counseling team consists of two licensed counselors, three counseling interns, and one social work intern:

Sheila Geant, LCPC
Coordinator of Counseling & Wellness
sgeant@meca.edu

Pete Franzen,
LCPC-C

Clinical Counselor
pfranzen@meca.edu

Matthew Chase
Counseling Intern
mchase@meca.edu

Andrea Harkins
Counseling Intern
aharkins@meca.edu

Lisa Murray
Counseling Intern
lisa.murray@meca.edu

Francesca Perlov
Social Work Intern
fperlov@meca.edu

In an emergency, you may do any of  the following, depending on the nature and severity of your concern:

Please view this page for more instructions on Crisis Support.

Wellness programming and opportunities are offered intermittently throughout the academic year at MECA. Individual wellness appointments may be scheduled by emailing counseling@meca.edu to discuss ways of improving wellness and lifestyle choices and related resources available in the Portland area.

Artwork: Hayley Cummings ’15