“Problems do not go away. They must be worked through, or else they remain forever a barrier to the growth and development of the spirit.” —M. Scott Peck, MD

MECA counselors are committed to helping students achieve their personal and academic goals and enhance their self-understanding. They provide students with support and encouragement in a nonjudgmental, caring setting where diversity is respected and celebrated. They can also assist with referrals to doctors, therapists, and other off-campus resources.

All BFA, MFA, MAT, and Salt students are eligible for free and confidential counseling at MECA. Employees are also welcome to utilize MECA Counseling on a limited basis. Counseling office hours are available every weekday and are posted on the counseling office.

The best way to schedule an appointment is to email counseling@meca.edu and suggest some convenient days and times to meet.

Counseling sessions are scheduled for 45 minutes but may be briefer if a student wishes. Students are expected to have their phones off and out of sight during counseling sessions.

PDF Overview of Counseling & Wellness

The 2018–2019 counseling team consists of two licensed counselors, two counseling interns, and one social work intern:

Sheila Geant, LCPC
Coordinator of Counseling & Wellness
sgeant@meca.edu
207.699.5056

Tommy Waltz, LCSW
Counselor
twaltz@meca.edu
207.699.5056


Keely Anderson
Counseling Intern
keely.anderson@meca.edu

Kristen Stake
Counseling Intern
kstake@meca.edu


Billy Winslow
Social Work Intern
bwinslow@meca.edu