In 2008, MECA alumna Barbara Rita Jenny MFA ’02 and her family donated the use of her family’s summer home in New Edinburgh, Nova Scotia with the intention of creating a unique artist residency program that is inclusive of artist’s partners and families.

The house is situated directly across the road from Baie Sainte-Marie and the property includes 200 feet of water frontage and several outbuildings. This residency is open to MECA alumni, faculty, and staff who are visual artists, writers, and/or scholars. Degree-holding alumni are given priority consideration over non-degree-holding alumni. Before applying, please read through all the information below.

Applications for 2017 are now closed but will re-open next winter with a deadline in February, 2018.

Location, Residency Length

714 Riverside Rd
New Edinburgh, Nova Scotia
BOW 3TO, Canada

Season: May 1 – July 15 and September 10 – September 30, 2017
Residency Length: two to four weeks
Number of residencies: two-three per season
Open to: individuals, families, or small groups

Eligibility

Open to MECA alumni, faculty, and staff members
Disciplines: Visual artists, writers, scholars. Degree-holding alumni are given priority consideration over non-degree-holding alumni.

Groups
If more than one person is applying for the residency, the group should select a lead contact person who is a faculty member, staff member or an alumnus. The lead contact person should submit a single application which includes a combined statement of purpose for the entire group, and all group members’ resumes pasted into a single document, as well as a list of all group members with links to their online portfolios or websites.

Residency Information

Studio and Special Equipment
Studio space available in shed, barn, tree-house, and basement. Outdoor sculpture is possible— half acre of mowed lawn, many acres of private woods plus public beach, jetties, tidal sand bar.

Housing
Three bedrooms on the second floor plus bunk room in attic that sleeps four. House can sleep up to 10 people.

Meals
Residents purchase and prepare their own meals. Grocery stores in nearby neighboring towns.

Phone/Computer/Internet Access
House has a telephone with local access only. Limited cell phone coverage. No Internet access at house. Internet use available at Weymouth Library, WiFi available at Weymouth Visitors Center.

Companions
Spouses, partners, children, and caregiver are welcome for full stay.

Other Facilities and Services
Many art materials are not generally accessible in the area, so it is best to bring the supplies that you will need.

Travel
Drive or take your car on the Ferry from St. John, New Brunswick to Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. The house is a one-hour drive from the Ferry terminal in Yarmouth.

Costs
There is no fee to attend this residency.

Open Studio/Exhibition
Artists in residence are required to hold at least one open studio or exhibition event for the neighboring community at some point during the residency.

Deadlines, Review Process

Deadlines
Proposals are reviewed once a year in March. Late and incomplete proposals will not be accepted. Notification of awards will be made in April.

Review Process
A review committee comprised of the Director of Alumni Relations, one Alumni Council member, the Vice President for Advancement, and a member of the Jenny family will make the selections. Proposals will be reviewed on a competitive basis. Residencies will be determined based on the quality of work submitted, evidence that the applicant’s career will benefit from the residency, that the nature and scope of proposed projects fit within the space and time limitations of the residency and that the applicant is able to work independently and responsibly. Priority consideration is given to artists who can best take advantage of the space and for whom traditional residencies are not an option. Group projects and collaborations are encouraged.

Application Requirements

Prepare the following information in advance of submitting your application. Incomplete applications will not be considered for review.

  1. One-page statement of purpose explaining why you want to attend this residency
  2. Resume
  3. Work samples:
    1. For artists submitting images: 10 digital images of your work are required. All images should be formatted as jpegs with a minimum width of 800 pixels and a maximum of 1024 pixels per side, saved at a resolution of 72 dpi.
      1. Title image files as follows: last namefirstnamenumber.jpg (i.e. smithjohn1.jpg, smithjohn2.jpg).
      2. Image information, including title, date, media, and physical dimensions of each piece, must be supplied in the space below each image upload.
      3. Do not include any spaces, dashes, or other symbols in the image title.
    2. For time based/ new media work: Supply URLs for 3 video or sound pieces. Submit links through YouTube. The selection committee may review only a small portion of time-based work. Please consider this when selecting your work to be reviewed.
    3. For writers or scholars: 2-3 writing samples that are one to two pages long. Save your 2-3 submissions into one document.
  4. All submissions must have been completed within the last three years.
  5. All documents listed above should be saved as a Word document or a PDF
  6. Complete the application form
  7. Upload documents: resume, statement of purpose
  8. Upload video submissions (time based/ new media applicants only) or writing samples (writing applicants only). Skip this step if you are applying with images.
  9. Upload image (if you are applying with images) using the “Browse” button. Type all image information on the following line. After each image upload is completed, continue in the same manner until all 10 images are uploaded
  10. Click “Submit”.

Please Note: If you do not receive a thank you confirmation and an email message after submitting your application, your application has not successfully uploaded. Contact the alumni office with any questions.

Past Residents

2017
Celeste Roberge ’78
Lucy Breslin (with Linda Casbon, Leslie
Volle, and Barbara Scott)
Allen West ’10 (with Meghan Howland)
Carter Shappy ’15

2016
Matt Burnett ’06
and Scott Fuller MFA ’06
Liz Leggett MFA ’06
Eric Vaughn MFA ’12
Jamie Hogan

2015
Emmeline Solomon ’13
Catie Draper MFA ’00
Sean Carnegie ’94
Victoria Marsh ’07
Rangeley Morton ’14 & Ella Sevy ’14

2014
Kim Vose Jones MFA ’12 www.kimvosejones.com
Nicole Duennebier ’05 www.nicoleduennebier.com
Curt Cloninger MFA’08 www.deepyoung.org
Rob Licht ’84  www.roblicht.com
Mark Marchesi ’99 www.markmarchesi.com

2013
Thomas Connolly87
Mark Marchesi ’99 www.markmarchesi.com
Camille Davidson ’89 www.cameedavidson.com

2012
Mark Marchesi ’99 www.markmarchesi.com
Richard Metz MFA ’00 www.mistermetz.com
Crystal Heiden ’06 www.crystalheiden.com
Conan Masterson
Christine Negus www.christinenegus.com
Thomas Cummins MFA’05 www.thomascummins.com

2011
Stacy Howe MFA ’10 www.stacyhowe.com
Celeste Roberge ’79 www.celesteroberge.com
Anne Garland ’93 annegarlandart.com
Joanne Clarey
Martha Almy ’95 www.marthaalmy.com
Alison Taylor ’94
Willamain Somma

2010
Tina Zagyva MFA ’09 www.tinazagyva.com
Celeste Roberge ’79 www.celesteroberge.com
Adriane Herman www.adrianeherman.com

2009
Harold Philbrook ’95
Fran Philbrook ’06
Cole Caswell MFA ’08 www.colecaswell.com
Jessica George MFA ’09
www.jessicageorgeart.com
Devin Dobrowolski MFA ’08 devindobrowolski.com

Questions?
Contact the Alumni Office at 207.699.5016 or email alums@meca.edu.