Collect

Department Banner

Registration to Participate in the 2015 Art Sale is Now Open!
Deadline to participate is August 3!

MECA's 2015 Fall Art Sale October 7-10, raises crucial funds for MECA student scholarships and features the work of MECA faculty, students, alumni and others.

Open to the Public
Wednesday, October 8 thru.
Saturday, October 10, 2015


Thursday, October 8, 10am-6pm
Friday, October 9, 10am-8pm
Meet the Artists / Artists Reception 6-8pm
Saturday, October 10, 10am-6pm

Collect is a chance to discover emerging artists, view new work by established artists, and build your own collection while supporting MECA's scholarship fund and participating artists.  The art sale features a unique, diverse and unexpected array of work in a variety of genres with a range of sizes, prices and media, including original furniture, sculpture, jewelry, paintings, prints, photography, textiles, drawings, and more.

One to five works in any media priced by the artists will be sold to benefit MECA's Scholarship Fund, with 50% commission or full donation options.

Participation is open to:

  • BFA Juniors and Seniors
  • ArtEd and MFA students
  • MECA alumni
  • MECA current and former faculty
  • MECA staff
  • Continuing Studies students enrolled between January 1, 2014 to August 1, 2015.
  • Artists who participated in the MECA Art Auctions 2008-2011
  • MECA Visiting Artists
  • MECA Residency Participants

Interview with Development Officer Dietlind Vander Schaaf about the Art Sale

 

Further information available at artsale@meca.edu or 207-775-5098.

 

 

 


The Art Sale is a great opportunity to buy contemporary work from
emerging and established artists.
 


Items include jewelry, textiles, prints, furniture, paintings, sculpture,
ceramics, drawings, and more.  Artwork will be rotated daily with fresh work
on display each day.

Artists set the prices, with 50% commission and full donation options.
Proceeds benefited MECA's Scholarship Fund and the individual artists.


Participating Artists

Angela Adams, Friend, www.angelaadams.com
Caitlin Alger ’12, Alumni
Judith Allen-Efstathiou, CS Faculty, www.judithallenstudios.com
Joanne Arnold '79, Alumni
Katharine Ayer
Marian Baker,BFA Faculty, marianbakerpottery.com
Sylvia Bangs ’58, Alumni, www.sylviabangs.com
Great Bank, BFA Faculty, mysecretstudio.com
Jane Banquer, Friend
Libby Barrett ’88, Alumni, www.libbybarrett.net
Cat Bates ’09, Alumni, cat-bates.com
Christine Beneman, Friend, www.chrisbeneman.com
Kimberly Bentley, CS Faculty
Dyan Berk, Friend, www.dyanberk.com
Don Best ’79, Alumni
Jacquelyn Blackstone, CS Student
Shayna Blumert ’13, Alumni, www.shaynabee.tumblr.com
Kathleen Boldt, CS Faculty, kathieboldt.com
Paul Bonneau, Friend, paulvbonneau.com
Hannah Boone ’16, BFA Student
Lucy Breslin, BFA Faculty, lucybreslin.com
Philip Brou, BFA Faculty, www.philipbrou.com
Sissy Buck, Friend, sissybuck.com
Anne Buckwalter MFA '12, Alumni, annebuckwalter.com
Bernadette Burks '15, bernadetteburks.weebly.com
Chaya Caron '99, Alumni, chayastudio.com
James Chute, CS Student, https://www.facebook.com/JamesChuteArtist
Lucia Connelly ’72, Alumni
Andrew Cook ’05, Alumni, lobsteringisanart.com
Toni Jo Coppa MFA ’13, Alumni, www.tonijocoppa.com
Julie Crane '82, Alumni, juliecrane.com
Chad Creighton '12, Alumni, creightonstudios.com
Reid Crewe ’12, Alumni
Julie Cunningham '00, Alumni
Diane Dahlke, CS Faculty, dianedahlke.com
Addison de Lisle '11, Alumni, addisondelisle.com
Robert Doucette ’55, Alumni
Nicholas Downing, Friend, downingarts.com
Heather Dawn Driscoll ’02, Alumni
Michel Droge MFA ’10, Alumni, Micheldroge.wordpress.com
Stanislaus Dyro ’81, Alumni, gregdyro.com
Annika Earley MFA '16, Student, www.annikaearley.com
Helene Farrar, CS Student, www.helenefarrar.com
Erin McGee Ferrell, CS Student, www.Philadelphia-Artist.com
Jodi Ferry '14, Alumni
Michael Fillyaw, CS Student
Hana Firestone ’14, Alumni, hanafirestoneillustration.tumblr.com
Julie Freund ’81, Alumni, juliefreund.com
Kathleen Galligan, Friend, kathleengalligan.com
Alina Gallo, MFA '08, Alumni, alinagallo.com
Lisa Gent, Friend, www.lisagent.com
Danielle Gerber '12, Alulmni, danielle-gerber.com
Sara Gray, CS Student
Lindsay Hancock, Friend
Connie Hayes ’80, Alumni, www.conniehayes.com
Steve Hayes, CS Student, www.steven-hayes.com
Peyton Higgison '79, Alumni, peytonart.com
Ayumi Horie, Visiting Artist, ayumihorie.com
Claudia Hughes, CS Student, claudiahughespaintings.com
Matt Hutton, BFA Faculty, studio24b.com
Anne Ireland '94, Alumni, anneirelandart.com
Mark Johnson, BFA Faculty, http://markjohnsonceramics.com/
Judy Kane, CS Student, www.judykanearts.com
Rachel Katz, MFA '00, Alumni, lightanddust.com
Leah Kruger, CS Student, www.brightbeyondbelief.com
Patty Lage, CS Student
Marguerite Lawler, CS Faculty, www.margueritelawler.com
Margaret Lawrence ’93, Alumni, margaretlawrence.com
Tana Leonhart, CS Student
Genevieve Levin ’97, Alumni, www.remarkableblackbird.com
Mike Lewis MFA ’12, Alumni, www.lewisacrylics.com
Rob Licht ’84, Alumni, www.roblicht.com
Megan Lloyd, Staff
Honour Mack, BFA Faculty, honourmack.com
Sandy Macleod, CS FAculty, sandymacleod.com
Adam Manley, BFA Faculty, adamjohnmanley.com
Mark Marchesi ’99, Alumni, www.markmarchesi.com
Tracy Mastro ’91, Alumni, tsmastroart.com
Margareta McDonald, CS Student, metamcdonald.com
Betsy McLellan, Friend, www.betsymclellan.com
William Mills ’80, Alumni, www.williamamills.com
Daniel Minter, BFA Faculty, danielminter.com
Scott Moore ’78, Alumni, www.scottmooreartist.com
Andy Moser, Visiting Artist
Vanessa Nesvig, Friend, vanessanesvig.com
Emily Diaz Norton ’07, Alumni
Tessa O'Brien MFA ’16, MFA Student, www.tessagreenobrien.com
Jean Ouellette Langer '78, Alumni
Kelly Palomera, CS Student, kptrees.com
Isabella Pardales ’15, CS Student
Sharyn Paul Brusie ’86, Alumni
Emily Percival '06, Alumni, epercivaljewelry.etsy.com
Scott Peterman, BFA Faculty
Gail Pfeifle, CS Student
Robbi Portela '87, Alumni, maineclay.com
Elizabeth Prior '82, Alumni, epriorjewelry.com
Kari Radasch ’97, Alumni, www.kariradasch.com
Shannon Rankin ’97, Alumni, shannonrankin.com
Holly Ready ’94, Alumni, Hollyready.com
Natalie Reed ’13, Alumni, Nataliereeddesigns.com
Andrea Reising, CS Student, www.andreareising.com
Christina Replogle, CS Student
Justin Richel ’02, Alumni, www.justinrichel.com
Mary Rodgers ’11, Alumni, http://mashchic.deviantart.com
Hannah Rosengren ’13, Alumni, www.hannahrosengren.com
Joe Rosshirt ’11, Alumni, Www.forthousestudios.com
Gergana Rupchina '98, Alumni, www.bg2770@mac.com
Morgan Sayer '98, Alumni, morganmcgeehandesign.etsy.com
Judith Schneider MFA '14, Alumni, judith-schneider.squarespace.com
Francine Schrock ’91, Alumni, www.francineschrock.com
Rebecca Shelly '04, Alumni, rebeccashelly.com
Stacey Sherman ’08, Alumni, www.staceysherman.net
Ann Slocum, Friend
Erin Smith, CS Student, erincsmith.nearbyart.com
Shelley Snodgrass ’91, Alumni, shelleysnodgrass.com
Maia Snow ’13, Alumni, maiasnow.com
Gail Spaien, BFA Faculty, gailspaien.com
M. Paula Steffen ’96, Alumni
Phil Stevens '91, Alumni, pkstevens.com
Priscilla Stevens, CS Student, psstevens.com
Mike Stiler, Friend, mikestilerart.com
Kat Taylor '82, Alumni, artistillustratorkgtaylor.com
Ann Thompson, Friend,  http://www.snagmetalsmith.org/members/thompsonann/
Susan Tureen ’96, Alumni, susantureen.com
Kory Twaddle MFA '06, Alumni
Jude Valentine ’78, Alumni, www.judevalentine.com
Dietlind Vander Schaaf, Staff, www.dietlindvanderschaaf.com
Michael E. Vermette, 80, Alumni, http://www.michaelevermette.com
Kathy Wagner, CS Student, kathywagnerart.com
Angela Warren, MFA '11, Alumni, angelawarrenart.com
Diana Washburn, Friend
Shoshannah White, Friend, shoshannahwhite.com
Louise Wickard, Friend, louisawickard.com
Sarah Camille Wilson ’07, Alumni, sarahcamillewilson.com
Henry Wolyniec, Visiting Artist, henrywolyniec.com
Charles Yoder, Friend, www.charlesyoder.com
Nicolas Zalisk '07, Alumni, www.northernrosefound.com

 

 

CALL FOR ART

Please review all the information on this page BEFORE registering! 

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO PARTICIPATE

One to five works in any media priced by the artists will be sold to benefit MECA's Scholarship Fund, with 50% commission or full donation options.

You do not need to describe the specific work you are submitting until later in the year.  The deadline to participate in the sale is August 3, 2015

Participation is open to:

  • BFA Juniors and Seniors
  • ArtEd and MFA students
  • MECA alumni
  • MECA Honorary Degree recipients
  • MECA current and former faculty
  • MECA staff
  • Continuing Studies adult students enrolled between January 1, 2014 to August 1, 2015.
  • Artists who participated in the MECA Art Auctions 2008-2011
  • MECA Visiting Artists
  • MECA Residency Participants

2015 Important Dates for Contributing Artists:

DEADLINE to Participate
Monday, August 3, 2015, 5pm

DEADLINE to Register Artwork
Monday, September 14, 2015, 5pm

Artwork Drop-off
Thursday, October 1, 8am-6pm
Saturday, October 3, 10am-4pm

Art Sale, October 7-10, 2015
Open to the public October 8-10.

Artist's Reception
Friday, October 9 6-8pm

Artwork Pick-up
Sunday, October 11, 1-5pm
Monday, October 12, 10am-6pm

Art Sale, Drop-off and Pick-up all take place at:

ARTISTS AT WORK at MECA
522 Congress St, Portland, ME 04101


2015 Guidelines

Work that does not follow these guidelines WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.

  • Each artist may enter up to FIVE PIECES in any media. Due to space limitations, work over six feet in any direction needs to be approved in advance.
  • Work must have been created within the last five years.
    No repeat submissions.  Work that did not sell at a previous MECA Collect Art Sale will not be accepted.
  • Each artist must submit a signed Artwork Release Form at drop-off.
  • Artwork that has not been pre-registered will not be accepted. Early registration is highly encouraged.
  • Work must be dropped-off during the posted drop-off times (Thursday, October 1, 8am-6pm or Saturday, October 3, 10am to 4pm). No exceptions.
  • Maine College of Art reserves the right to refuse any work that is damaged, unfinished, not properly dry, or deemed too fragile or hazardous to display, or is too large to properly store.  
  • Work intended for hanging must be properly framed and wired.
  • Work must be picked up during the posted pick-up times (Sunday, October 11, 1-5pm or Monday, October 12, 10am-6pm).

SHIPPING POLICY

  • Artists may ship their work for inclusion in the 2015 Art Sale. All artists who ship must follow the guidelines stated below.  Any work that does not adhere to the guidelines will not be accepted.
  • Only deliveries through FedEx and UPS will be accepted.
  • The shipper is responsible for shipping fees.  FedEx (http://www.fedex.com/us/return-solutions/how-to-create-a-label/) offers a service through which you can create and print a return label, with no charges assessed until the label is used.  UPS offers a similar service (http://www.ups.com/content/us/en/shipping/time/service/value_added/returns.html) through which a prepaid return label is good for 100 days.
  • It is the shipper’s responsibility to make sure the item is correctly packed with sufficient insurance.  Each shipment must include appropriate unpacking, handling, and repacking instructions. MECA will not be held responsible for insufficiently insured items which arrive damaged either to or from MECA.
  • Work must be received by MECA between October 1-October 3 ONLY.

Shipping Address:

MECA Art Sale
Maine College of Art
522 Congress St
Portland, ME 04101
207-879-5742
artsale@meca.edu

Artwork Release Form

Each artist must sign an Artwork Release Form at the drop-off. If you are having a third party drop off your work, or are shipping your work, we will email the form to you in advance or you can print it out below.

art-sale-artwork-release-form-21215.pdf

If you have additional questions, contact us at artsale@meca.edu or 207-775-5098.

Preparing Your Work

DISPLAY
Because work will be moved and may be restocked throughout the four days of the sale, you must review the following guidelines for preparation. Although we cannot accept work that is overly fragile, surfaces may be covered with clear plastic. We must be able to see the work clearly at all times in order to display it.

UNFRAMED WORK ON PAPER:

  • We encourage you to have your work professionally shrink-wrapped or enclosed in a clear, sealed plastic sleeve.
  • Foam core or card stock should be used as backing.

HANGING WORK (2-D):

  • We cannot accept clip frames — all wall-hanging work needs to be appropriately wired.  

3-D WORK:

  • Please provide specific instructions for any work that may require special installation.


FAQ

How will be work be displayed?
Due to the volume of work, and because this is a fundraising art sale, rather than a gallery exhibition, please know that though we will make every attempt to display at least one of your pieces throughout the sale, we may need to store some items and rotate your work throughout the show.

What work should I submit?

MECA accepts all media with the exception of extremely fragile work, as noted in the guidelines. All work intended for hanging must be properly framed and/or wired. All work, such as oil paintings, must be dry.

How do I price my work?
All works are priced by the artist. Please contact us if you would like assistance with pricing and/or visit How to Price Art from ArtBusiness.com or How to Price Your Art from Found Myself Art.

What if I am currently represented by a gallery?
It is the responsibility of the artist to work with any galleries who represent you regarding their rules for participation in additional art sales.  

What if I can't make it to the drop-off/pick-up days?
Artists are allowed to have someone else drop off and pick up their work. You or your drop-off person must bring the Artwork Release Form. Please note that a social security number or valid tax ID number is required on all Artwork Release Forms, without which MECA cannot process payment. Work cannot be dropped off without an Artwork Release Form.  

How do I know if my work has sold?
Unfortunately we do not have the capacity to contact each artist with the results of the sale.  We will attempt to email you if all your items have sold and you DO NOT need to pick up any unsold work, but cannot guarantee we will be able to do so within the tight time-frame of the sale.  If you DO NOT receive an email from us, plan to pick up work during the scheduled pick-up times.

When should I expect my check?
You should expect to receive a check approximately 30 days after the pick up period ends. All checks will be mailed to the address provided on your Participation Form.

Do I have to pay taxes on what I sell?
By participating in the Maine College of Art sale, you are offering your work on a fee basis rather than as an employee of MECA.  All artists are obligated to pay all income, social security, Medicare and any other statutory-mandated taxes required by Federal and State laws that apply to the self-employed for any amount paid to them for the sale of their work.

Is the 50% or full donation to MECA tax deductible?
Maine College of Art is a (501) (C3) nonprofit organization and therefore your contribution may be tax deductible. Please note that the IRS laws governing artists donating art are complex regarding how to determine the value of the deduction.  Please always consult your tax advisor first if you have questions about your own personal tax situation.

Thank You For Your Support of MECA! 

 

We are grateful to the following businesses for their vital support: 


2015 SPONSORS




CONTRIBUTOR

Northern Benefits 



IN-KIND



MEDIA SPONSORS