Baie Ste. Marie Artist & Family Residency

Department Banner

Baie Sainte-Marie Artist and Family Residency

In 2008, MECA alumna Barbara Rita Jenny MFA '02 and her family donated the use of her family's summer home in New Edinburgh, Nova Scotia with the intention of creating a unique artist residency program that is inclusive of artist's partners and families. The house is situated directly across the road from Baie Sainte-Marie and the property includes 200 feet of water frontage and several outbuildings.

Apply now

Location
714 Riverside Rd
New Edinburgh, Nova Scotia
BOW 3TO, Canada

Season
May 1 through November 2 (Residencies are not available from July 16 through September 2 in 2014.) 

Statistics
Residency Length: two to four weeks
Number of residencies: two-three per season
Open to individuals, families, or small groups

Eligibility
Open to MECA alumni, faculty, and staff members
Disciplines: visual artists, writers, scholars
Groups: If more than one person is applying for the residency, submit a separate form for each person and indicate the lead contact person for the group. At least one group member must be a faculty member, staff member or an alumna/us. Degree-holding alumni are given priority consideration over non-degree holding alumni.

Studio and Special Equipment
Studio space available in shed, barn, tree-house, and basement.
Outdoor sculpture possible- half acre of mowed lawn, many acres of private woods plus public beach, jetties, tidal sand bar.

Housing
Three bedrooms on the second floor plus bunk room in attic that sleeps four.
House can sleep up to 10 people.

Meals
Residents purchase and prepare their own meals. Grocery stores in nearby neighboring towns.

Phone/Computer/Internet Access
House has a telephone with local access only. Limited cell phone coverage. No Internet access at house. Internet use available at Weymouth Library, WiFi available at Weymouth Visitors Center.

Companions
Spouses, partners, children, and caregiver are welcome for full stay.

Other Facilities and Services
Many art materials are not generally accessible in the area, so it is best to bring the supplies that you will need.

Travel
Drive or take your car on the Cat Ferry from St. John, New Brunswick to Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. The house is a one-hour drive from the Ferry terminal in Yarmouth.

Costs
There is no fee to attend this residency.

Open Studio/ Exhibition
Artists in residence are encouraged to hold at least one open studio or exhibition event for the neighboring community at some point during the residency.

Deadlines
Proposals are reviewed once a year in March. Applications must be received by 5:00pm on February 19, 2014. Late and incomplete proposals will not be accepted. Notification of awards will be made in April. This year the application process has moved to an online application form.

Review Process
A review committee comprised of the Director of Alumni Relations, one Alumni Council member, the Vice President for Advancement, and a member of the Jenny family will make the selections. Proposals will be reviewed on a competitive basis. Residencies will be determined based on the quality of work submitted, evidence that the applicant's career will benefit from the residency, that the nature and scope of proposed projects fit within the space and time limitations of the residency and that the applicant is able to work independently and responsibly. Priority consideration is given to artists who can best take advantage of the space and for whom traditional residencies are not an option. Group projects and collaborations are encouraged.

Apply now

 

For more information

Jill Dalton '99 
Associate Director of Artists at Work &

Director of Alumni Relations

207.699.5018
alums@meca.edu


Baie St Marie

2012
Mark Marchesi ’99 www.markmarchesi.com
Richard Metz MFA ’00 www.mistermetz.com
Crystal Heiden ’06 www.crystalheiden.com, Conan Masterson, Christine Negus www.christinenegus.com
Thomas Cummins MFA’05 www.thomascummins.com

2011
Stacy Howe MFA '10 www.stacyhowe.com
Celeste Roberge '79 www.celesteroberge.com
Anne Garland '93 annegarlandart.com, Joanne Clarey
Martha Almy '95, Alison Taylor '94, Willamain Somma

2010
Tina Zagyva MFA '09 www.tinazagyva.com
Celeste Roberge '79 www.celesteroberge.com
Adriane Herman www.adrianeherman.com

2009
Harold Philbrook '95, Fran Philbrook '06
Cole Caswell MFA '08 www.colecaswell.com, Jessica George MFA '09 www.jessicageorgeart.com
Devin Dobrowolski MFA '08 devindobrowolski.com